Final Rewind {Merry New Year}

Okay, so I pseudo-lied in the last post– it’s not quite Christmas yet. Getting closer, though.

Before Christmas, there was an Apocalypse Party. You know, because the world was to end. World ending = party. Obviously.

I wore purple pants:

20121222_002517

20121221_232129

Erin wore appropriate tights and an “artifact” necklace (hilarious):

20121221_232156

And there was conveniently a Mayan backdrop for a photo shoot.

20121221_232204

I think Joe is modeling professionally now, if anyone is interested in contacting him. It should also be noted that Abbey provided the very photo-shoot-appropriate Mayan Aztec jacket (and all of these photos- thanks, Abb).

Yeah, so, that happened. The Apocalypse was nonexistent, though, which meant…Christmas. I promised you it was coming! First up, extended family Christmas at the parentals’.

My cousin, Maddie, is the prettiest girl I know! And my brother loves wearing overalls.

My cousin Maddie is the prettiest girl I know!

184511_1642355301131_1646087911_n

Just couldn't put the ham down for a photo.

Just couldn’t put the ham down for a photo.

The next morning I attended a lovely little Birthday Brunch for my friend, Katie. I didn’t take any photos, but Katie posted a recap on her blog, and you should absolutely check it out. I’m serious. CLICK HERE NOW and look at all the pretty pictures. We had fun. There were personalized coasters, there was champagne, there was Tomato Basil Bread Pudding, and there were HEAVENLY scones. And I do mean heavenly. Brunch was lovely, because Katie is lovely. You should read this post by her while you’re at it. (FYI, Katie and I were sort of high school rivals but didn’t specifically know it, then we went to Jewell together and bonded. She also stayed with me for a hot second in Washington this summer).

Moving on! That same night I had another little reunion to attend. IMG_1580

I really have no idea why there was Lysol and/or a broom involved, but it was obviously fun. There was also an in-town bonfire.

IMG_1576

This particular reunion has become tradition and features friends I definitely only see once per year (i.e. Maggie lives in New York..), so it is always a reeeeeal good time. This one was especially spectacular.

Again, this post is getting out of control. The following is a photo-heavy abbreviation of Christmas through the New Year.

Christmas night living room:

IMG_1593

Present opening:

IMG_1596

Bacon calendar = no-brainer gift.

It fiiiinally snowed before I left:

IMG_1614

New Year’s Eve at Table Rock:

IMG_1617

The gentleman…if that’s what they can be called:

IMG_1643

And the ladies (much better looking than the men):

IMG_1635

Party pic that I find hilarious:

IMG_1653

And post-midnight lake plunge:

IMG_1697

Nothing says Happy New Year like a dip in the lake.

I left the homeland a couple days later, but before doing so I bought this shirt (for myself, of course):

IMG_1708

Love!

Five Pound Apparel in downtown Spring-town has a whole slew of Missouri is Awesome tees, by the way. You know you want one, too.

And then I made a dinner of meatloaf, fingerling potatoes, and green beans for the fam and enjoyed it, them, and one a few of these:

IMG_1710

After that, I suppose I was ready to go back to Seattle and back to school. … Let’s be real, that’s definitely a lie. I’m never ready. There’s just no place like home (I know I say that all the time)!

Other unpictured but noteworthy things I did while home included: attending a GHS basketball game; having breakfast at the Brew Co. (you should do that, and soon); getting my Sumits Hot Yoga fix; changing my red wine preference from cabernet sauvignon to pinot noir; being treated to a manicure, a pedicure, and a massage; sitting in a duck blind (okay, it was in a living room, but still); going to Mama Jean’s…like, five times; eating Andy’s; glittering up some champagne glasses with my GF; meeting a pup named Freese; hanging out with the cutest 2-year-old on the planet (again); hanging out with my childhood besties/other family (though as a result of sad circumstance, it made my heart happy); reading The Shack, finishing The Omnivore’s Dilemma (you don’t wanna know how long I’d been reading that); annnndd many other things, I’m sure.

If you’re still with me, you deserve a cookie. 🙂 I’m back in Seattle and back to school, and I really, really have intentions of returning this little space back to a blog…as opposed to keeping up with the novel of a Facebook photo album type thing I’ve got going on now. We’ll see what happens. Stay tuned.

Leave a Reply

